jump to navigation

Use every RC Toy Transmitter as a game controller April 6, 2007

Posted by pawnee in Hardware.
trackback

To play a race game on a PC you use either a steering wheel or the keyboard. In my case, I rarely play games so I don’t own a steering wheel. My brother use a rc wheel controller to control his rc car.

My idea was to connect this transmitter to my pc as a game controller. Here’s the result:

rc1

Components:

  • RC USB Interface
  • 2.5mm 3.5mm audio jack (depends on the RC USB Interface)

rc3

Tools:

  • soldering iron
  • screwdrivers to open the case of the transmitter

How-to:

  1. First you have to open the transmitter case
  2. Now you have to search for the ppm signal
    I used a soundcard oscilloscope for this job
  3. Connect the audio jack to the ppm signal using the soldering iron

Important: You have two lines on the oscilloscope. Put one line to the ground and with the other line go throught the pins of the microcontroller.
dsc00005_small.jpg

Now you can plug in the RC USB Interface to the transmitter and to the PC.

In Windows XP, the interface should be recognized as a game controller.

Have Fun.

Comments»

1. Ken - November 30, 2007

Nice controller, I always wanted something like that but never saw one before. I always wanted to make one by my self but no idea how. Can you steer gradually with this controller?

2. remotecontroltoys - February 19, 2010

So if we actually have a steering wheel for gaming, we can actually steer the RC. I think it would be great if you add a camera on the RC and let the computer show what’s on the camera ahile you’re steering it. That’s more like real deiving, right?


Leave a comment